Multiverse

CardName: Alannon, the Exile Cost: 1WW Type: Legendary Creature - Human Knight Pow/Tgh: 4/4 Rules Text: You can play Alannon, the Exile from Exile, but not from anywhere else. Double Strike {W}{W}{W}: Exile Alannon, you may play this ability if Alannon is in your hand. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Dark Omens Rare

Alannon, the Exile
{1}{w}{w}
 
 R 
Legendary Creature – Human Knight
You can play Alannon, the Exile from Exile, but not from anywhere else.
Double Strike
{w}{w}{w}: Exile Alannon, you may play this ability if Alannon is in your hand.
4/4
Updated on 7 Jun 2012 by Camruth
Dark Omens: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Recent activity
Mechanics | The Pridelands | The Lushwood | Stonefast Mountains | The Valurian Empire | Skeleton

Code:

History: [-]

2011-01-31 07:19:20: Camruth created the card Alannon, the Exile
2011-01-31 07:19:39: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
on 31 Jan 2011 by Camruth:

Not sure on this guy yet.

2011-01-31 07:23:26: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
on 31 Jan 2011 by Alex:

Wow. Interesting and unique effect, but it'll stall games like anything. If I have this guy exiled and my life total is -15, I'm not gonna cast him, but there's nothing my opponent can do short of Mindslaver or Pull from Eternity to win the game... That's not printable as it stands.

on 31 Jan 2011 by Chris:

Also, there's isn't actually any way currently on the card to return him from Exile.

2011-01-31 14:15:02: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
on 31 Jan 2011 by Camruth:

put back the any player may return him from exile ability

2011-02-01 00:29:11: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
on 1 Feb 2011 by Camruth:

Think this guy may have to go. Whilst the effect is cool, I already have an alternate win/loss card in Freedom or Death.

2011-02-01 00:36:50: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
on 1 Feb 2011 by Camruth:

Hmmm totally changed what the card does but not the core concept of him only being playable from exile.

on 1 Feb 2011 by Alex:

That's much better. It's got a bunch of interesting interactions (its CMC is 2, it's un-ORing-able, it's wacky fun with Leveler), and it keeps the core concept, while losing the stall and the way-too-many-words.

2012-04-23 04:35:07: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
2012-06-06 14:59:14: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
on 6 Jun 2012 by SadisticMystic:

If you play it from exile, the card goes to the stack, and only tries to enter the battlefield from there, which the card prevents. You might want to change that somehow or else the card is completely dead.

on 6 Jun 2012 by dude1818:

What if you combine lines 2 and 4 into "You may cast ~ from exile and only from exile."?

on 6 Jun 2012 by SadisticMystic:

­Haakon, Stromgald Scourge says the "only" part should be "but not from anywhere else".

2012-06-07 02:42:30: Camruth edited Alannon, the Exile
on 7 Jun 2012 by Camruth:

Thanks for the help guys, he looks much cleaner now.

on 7 Jun 2012 by jmgariepy:

SadisticMystic and Dude's idea was a good one. But I wonder if the better answer is to simply not give this guy a casting cost? The first ability could just be "{1}{w}{w}: Put ~ onto the battlefield from exile. You may activate this ability only when you could cast a sorcery." A bit less cute, but much cleaner to parse, I think.

Also, someone's got to keyword "You may activate this ability only when you could cast a sorcery." Not having a reverse flash is getting kind of annoying. Where is Professor Zoom when you need him?

on 7 Jun 2012 by Camruth:

That depends on whether you're talking about classic Zoom or "new coke" Hunter Solomon Zoom :-)

on 7 Jun 2012 by Camruth:

The reason I left him with a casting cost was for other abilities that can put creatures on the battlefield without "playing" them. Also I had another card that interacted with Knights that got cut from the set.

Add your comments:



(You won't be able to edit your comments unless you sign in before posting) (formatting help)