Recent updates to Silver bordered and/or joke cards: (Generated at 2013-06-18 06:50:56)
Page 1 - Older activity
If it just said "All Slivers get +0/+1 and have this ability", does that work in the rules? That is, this sliver obviously already have that ability, does it have a second copy of it (and hence a third, fourth, etc), or is "have" satisfied by the original copy of the ability? :)
This actually works out fairly similar to Sliver Legion, doesn't it? Obviously Sliver Legion is templated in a less gratuitously mathematical way :)
So is Timber Protector in a Treefolk deck.
I don't think so. It only grants itself the ability once. This is +0/+n2, where n is the number of Slivers. Doran Sliver deck seems pretty good. In any Sliver deck though, it will be impossible to beat in combat.
I think it's actually double those figures, so this gives +0/+2 by itself, then 8, 18, and 32. Toughness only is also a lot less breakable than giving a power boost.
Two on the field give +0/+4. Three give +0+9. That's a little ridiculous. If this said "All Slivers get +1/+1 and have this ability", it would be powerful but a fine rare. Linear growth is good; quadratic growth is bad.
Fine then, let's make it a lot less pointless.
ROFL! You could also call it "Quined Sliver" :)
I'd prefer the same joke on a sliver that was not quite pointless. It doesn't quite do nothing: it can turn off Muraganda Petroglyphs on Metallic Sliver. But I think it's one of the abilities that does the closest to nothing without actually doing nothing :)
Whatever you might have to say about it, you can't say that it doesn't fit the name.
Are you making fun of my Fusion Sliver?
Yes, yes they are.
There is Unhinge, as well as Mindculling in blue.
Every now and then, I get to thinking how crazy a bunch of 1/1s with ETB abilities are with Skullclamp on the table. This time around, my mind made this card... and I kind of wondered why it hasn't been printed yet. I suppose it's a matter of time.
Hahahaha... Oh man... I forgot about this thing. I totally need to print a playset.
Or to put it another way: They do distribute such modifications to the rules beforehand, and distribute it. It's called the Unhinged FAQTIWDAWCC (Frequently Asked Questions That If We Didn't Answer Would Cause Chaos)
In the world in which these cards exist, this can exist without batting an eyelid.
no really it doesnt do anything, unless you intend to rewrite the entire rules section on auras and overload , and distribute such modifications to players beforehand.
Ah. I knew this was an un-card, but I assumed you were making copies. You probably need reminder text, then. After all, even rare overload cards have it. Personally, I think it would be pretty funny to see Magical Embrace remind everybody that instead of enchanting target creature that the aura will enchant every creature.
It's silver-bordered, meaning that anything goes. This is the joke card set. Under my rules, an overloaded Aura enchants all applicable choices.
except it doesn't really do anything. permanents can only be attached to one object at a time. only time it would do something is if the aura has a "when you cast" trigger. e.g. when you cast this, target creature gains flying. then it would change the text to "each creature gains flying." but that extremely narrow.