Recent updates to My Universe, My Rules: (Generated at 2014-03-08 15:09:31)
Page 1 - Older activity
Similar questions have occasionally come up on the judges list. You can get situations like where a player has an unbounded mana combo, a Whetstone and a single Limestone Golem, and the opponent has an Emrakul, the Aeons Torn in their library and an odd number of total cards in library-and-graveyard (say 41). So each time through the opponent's library, it will trigger a reshuffle when the Emrakul is hit. The infinite-mill player can win as long as they can force the opponent to draw the Emrakul, but they can only do that if they mill all 40 other cards. They would like to shortcut the mill-and-reshuffle as many times as they'd like, each time Emrakul is in position 1-40, and skip to the situation where Emrakul is in position 41. I believe the last ruling I saw on that was that nondeterministic shortcuts are not allowed, so tough luck Mr Infinite-Mill, you should have played a Braingeyser.
I assume you could roll a whole series under 705.3, as in substituting each flip for the corresponding virtual d2.
You might not technically be allowed to simulate them with a single result value, since theoretically the result of each individual die is public knowledge. But assuming there aren't any "care about how many flips you win" cards in play, I think it would be OK in practice.
Interestingly, the CR allows for the coin not being a coin - "705.3 ... Other methods of randomization may be substituted for flipping a coin as long as there are two possible outcomes of equal likelihood and all players agree to the substitution..."
What's not clear is whether you can substitute for the whole series. Am I allowed, for instance, to ask random.org or invisiblecastle.com to roll that many 2-sided dice? Or Wolfram Alpha to "sample binomial(1000,0.5)"?
yeah, 3 is too low. Let's double that.
Alternate title: "Table Flip".
10/10 would play.
flavour text provided by AK
yah yah yah; it's an old obvious joke; but toothychat (AK) did it; so here it is.
Mmm; that would be a vaguely plausible card; given they already did "ETB triggers don't". This one was just for the silly.
I assume this would need to have an increased cost as an enchantment. Wouldn't this double trigger cards like Angel of Mercy? Actually... I'd rather like to see that card.
since this is an instant, when do you actually play it? during all that business when a permanent is entering the battlefield, no one has priority and so can't cast spells.
now if it was an enchantment, then it might let you get around ETB costs, e.g. Lotus Vale , Mox Diamond.
MaxDymond: [16:33] I like this article: http://blogs.magicjudges.org/articles/2013/12/31/enter-the-arena/
AlexChurchill: [16:41] Scarwood Treefolk being Zombifyed ETBs tapped even if there's both Humility and a Yixlid Jailer (that's dodging the Humility somehow)
Edwin: [16:49] Wow, that's confusing. I've just got to the bit about Conspiracy, where it seems that a creature coming into play isn't in play, and also isn't not in play
AlexChurchill: [16:52] Hah. Yeah. Conspiracy's "not on the battlefield" really means "are on the stack, in a hand, library or graveyard, in the ante or command zone, or outside the game"
Vitenka: [16:52] huh; so creatures dno't quantum tunnel from the stack to the battlefield?
AlexChurchill: [16:53] They sortof do, but things can look at them or affect them in the tunnel
AlexChurchill: [16:54] Despite the fact that the tunnelling is instantaneous
Edwin: [16:58] It seems weird that whether a creature affects itself depends on whether it can affect other things
AlexChurchill: [17:04] It is, very weird, but it's because people reading Orb of Dreams generally guess it'll ETB untapped
Vitenka: [17:03] Um... not that it generally makes any difference; but if the rules say it can have its effect before it's on the battlefield - that's just broken rules
AlexChurchill: [17:05] Orb of Dreams ETBs untapped, but Scarwood Treefolk ETBs tapped
Vitenka: [17:05] well yes- because it says so :)
Vitenka: [17:05] But I see your point; that distinction aint obvious
AlexChurchill: [17:06] But /why/ - or rather, /how/ to make that happen in the rules - is incredibly subtle and fiddly
I just fancied a pun on the name. (Though I guess it should be X2 to actually be one X for each gate the wall has in it)
What X? All instances of X everywhere?
is this spoof of the other expurgate card that was recently created? actually this would fit more as Esper Gate.
good point. Add it to the restricted list instead
Just putting "Legendary" on the type line of a clone isn't very productive; it only means anything if the clone isn't copying anything. Sakashima and Lazav both have additional text specifically allowing them to continue being legendary post-copy.
add missing close bracket
Ooh. Hmm. I'm not sure it'll actually manage to copy the state of "being enchanted"/"equipped" if there isn't anything to enchant/equip it. I think the game state would rebound and in the next instant say "Is there an enchantment on you? No? Then you're not enchanted, stop being so silly."
Yes to pretty much all of that; amusingly I think that if it's a copy of something that's enchanted it'll indeed get the benefit of the enchantment; and will register to anything that cares as being enchanted - but without an enchantment attached.
Hmmm. I kinda want to exclude non-targetted effects like that; but I don't see a way to do so without referencig layers irectly. And were this a real card, the FAQ would alreasdy be extensive. Making legendary to avoid the worst of it.
The Glorious Anthem example gives me the impression that this might be one of those cards destined to feature the word 'Legendary'...
So clearly any Giant Growth effects affecting the original also affect this. What about Oakenform-type effects? I'd guess that if you use this to copy a 2/2 with a +3/+3 Aura and a +2/+2 equipment, you do get a 7/7?
What about Glorious Anthem? Copy a 2/2 under Glorious Anthem, and you get a 3/3... that's then also affected by Glorious Anthem to work out at 4/4. And then the second one of this card would be base 4/4, and the Anthem makes it 5/5?
Reminds me of Riptide Mangler with a Bonesplitter. It effectively has ": This gets +2/+0 permanently".
Trying to explain to Max why copied mana isn't under "spend only on..." restrictions, plus a typo, leads me to a creature.
almost was: Play this ability when. Which would empty your deck kinda quickly.